Nostalgia

“For me, the magic of Hawaii comes from the stillness, the sea, the stars.” – Joanne Harris

If any of you have been to Hawaii then you’ll know it’s almost a magical place to visit. The air feels fresh and crisp, you can hear the ocean and the people are always friendly. I’ve been back in Florida for a week already but it feels like an eternity, and I can’t wait till I get the chance to go back. I have this homesick feeling that I’ve never felt before even when I was living in North Carolina.


On my last day in the island it felt very nostalgic as if I had already left. A piece of me however stayed in Hawaii and I think it will always be there until I return. The culture is totally different than the culture we see in Florida, especially since in Florida we have so many different cultures. What made me fall more in love with the island was how friendly the people were and how care free they are as well.


In Florida, almost everyone is in a rush to get somewhere; whether it’s for work or school they’re always rushing. In Hawaii everyone is very relaxed and there’s no rush at all, everyone waves and smiles hello and you can feel it in the air how calm the environment is. Maybe it’s the fact that they have an unlimited supply of sunshine and fresh air, or the fresh local fruits. Maybe it’s because it’s been rated one of the least stressed states and one of the happiest states in the nation.


One thing that is for sure is that I’ll never be the same as I was before I went to Hawaii, and that’s something I’m thankful for. Whether it’s taking another vacation or permanently moving to the island, I plan on going back. If you have a bucket list of places you want to see than make sure you make Hawaii number one on your list, you won’t regret it. Comment below if you’ve ever been or if you’ve ever felt this way before about a place you’ve been to.

By: Mellow Mel

© All Rights Reserved

Source of pictures: Mellow Mel

Leave a Reply

